Local Foods Connection Blog

Local foods, hunger relief, sustainable agriculture

Great Food Blog from Vermont April 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — caroline@LFC @ 11:37 am
Tags: , ,

Caroline here.  A great friend of mine who hails from Burlington, Vermont just brought the blog Every Kitchen Table to my attention.  The blog is penned by Rob Smart, a resident of central Vermont.  You might enjoy his recent post, “Dear Julia Child, We Need You!” The blog also has an impressive links page with various resources, as well as links to a variety of other food related blogs in the “Fellow Foodies” section.  So thank you, Stephanie, and happy reading!

 

9 Responses to “Great Food Blog from Vermont”

  1. Pierre Mesa Says:

    My name is Pierre Mesa, I will be opening the only Authentic Mexican Taqueria in Vermont. Hand made tortillas, 5 kinds – salsa bar, fresh cut chips, local family farm produce and proteins. 7 items on menu. Nothing more expensive than $8 – all fresh, no canned items. Everything is made fresh daily. No walk-in. Stay tuned. Don Pedro’s Taqueria in Burlington Vt. – Open spring 2011. I will be the chef/owner. I will work everyday. Vermont needs this badly.

    Cheers,

    Pierre Mesa

    • lovestacos! Says:

      I see that you originally wanted only 7 items on the menu – I think that’s a great idea – just tacos! I think you have way too many items on the menu right now for them all to be great.

  2. Peter Says:

    Pierre, where are you from? I’m from San Diego, CA, and I’ve been DYING for some good Mexican food. You’re opening up in Winooski right next to I live. I look forward to being one of your first customers.

    • Pierre Mesa Says:

      Hey Peter, I have lived in N. CA and Pasadena for many years. I was a chef all over the US and I graduated from the CIA. My partner and best friend comes from San Diego. Him and I spent over 3 months traveling exclusively for Taqueria’s all over the West and Mexico and the best of the west. I have taken the best from El Pollo Loco, Roberto’s and a few others. . . My friend, can you say Al Pastor!!! I will have something that has not been seen around here. Looking forward to seeing you!!

      Don Pedro

  3. Malcolm Hood Says:

    Tucked under sugar maples as you wind your way up Windham Hill Road just might be Vermont’s best kept culinary secret, Chefadelic’s food stand. A quick look at the special board, scribbled in chalk over an oddly shaped piece of slate, lists surprisingly diverse fare such as: authentic New Orleans style crawfish ettouffe, spicy summer squash bisque, organic salads and hand cranked home made vanilla ice cream sandwiches. But the main attraction has to be Chefadelic’s charcoal grilled sourdough pizzas.

    Made to order before your eyes, the crisp, multigrain crusts are spread with hand crafted sauces and topped with a wide array of local toppings. A typical days offering might include a rich marinara topped with slices of Grafton cheddar cheese, tangy spoonfuls of garlic scape pesto, tiny cubes of summer squash, red onions and portabella mushrooms; a creamy alfredo sauce paired with crisp bacon, baby portabellas and freshly cut bell peppers; a amazingly tangy Cajun barbeque chicken pizza; or what the chef calls an Eggplant Creole, another classic New Orleans’ tomato based sauce swimming with fire roasted eggplant.

    And the very reasonably priced food is only half the charm of this spot. Two weathered picnic tables shaded by the maples overlook beautiful pasture surrounded by tree covered ridges and open sky. Real silverware, cloth napkins and an eclectic array of china top the tables, usually occupied by an equally eclectic mixture of locals and tourists. With children happily playing in the yard, conversation topics meandered from a local bear sighting to environmental issues to art history, but somehow it always came back to the food. Usually when another pizza arrived at the table or when someone took a bite of one of the decadent ice cream sandwiches.

    Run by New Orleans transplant Malcolm Hood and his soon to be wife Amber O’Reilly, Chefadelic’s is the epitome of Vermont’s farm to table cottage industry. Many of the vegetables served come from either their or their neighbors’ gardens and they use only regional organic flours and wild caught yeasts for their sourdough crusts (which are made daily, of course). When asked about their out of the way location, the couple laughed. “Somehow, several farmers’ markets heard about my food and inquired if we’d be interested in vending for them. Unfortunately, or fortunately as it turned out, my car was always broken down. So instead of taking our show on the road, we just set up right next to it. Everything’s fallen into place since then.”

    We couldn’t agree more. Chefadelic’s is located at 3128 Windham Hill Road in the center of South Windham, Vermont. Windham Hill Road can be accessed by either Route 30 in W. Townshend, or from 121 in Windham proper. Open Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings from 5 to 9PM and Sundays from noon to 5PM. BYOB. Call 802.874.8120 for takeout orders or directions.

  4. Pierre Mesa Says:

    I will do my best to make all terrific. I believe we can, and Iwe are focused to concentrate on dinner then move to lunch. Thank you for the comment.

    Don Pedro’s

  5. ajsintel.com Says:

    Wow, fantastic weblog format! How long have you been running a blog for?

    you make blogging glance easy. The total look of your site is wonderful, as
    neatly as the content!

  6. Good response in return of this query with firm arguments and explaining all concerning that.

  7. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone
    .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great site!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.