Local Foods Connection Blog

Local foods, hunger relief, sustainable agriculture

Volunteerism at LFC February 14, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — localfoodsconnection @ 4:16 pm

My name is Natalie Blaine.  I’m a freshman at the University of Iowa, and I have been volunteering at Local Foods Connection since the end of January.  Volunteering at Local Foods Connection has been a wonderful experience for me.  Laura Dowd (president) has proven to be the most flexible volunteer coordinator.  Not only do I perform clerical work for Local Foods, but I am also given the option of trying out other areas of the organization (farm work, etc.).  Local Foods Connection works around my academic and work schedules to provide me with volunteer experience that will be crucial in my applications for graduate school at the UI college of pharmacy next fall.  I’m excited to continue working with Laura, Kristin, and Local Foods Connection.  The atmosphere is great, the people are awesome, and most importantly Local Foods Connection works for a great cause.

 

Leave a Reply

